IT IS SO TERRIBLE

I was looking at some of my early poetry (think high school) just for kicks, as I’m putting together my thesis this month.

MY EARLY STUFF IS SO TERRIBLE:

“On Cloudseas”

The sea in the sky
Smiles up in my eye.
Flying frozen in
A torrential plume-
But never to resume
a crash or fall.

Above this all, I soar-
My eye seeing more
Than ever before.

The infinite waters
float, rather than
I
Infinitely floating-

Still, I do not sink
Over the mountains.

My eye looks out again

The moon spreads
Her moon-sung butter
On the moon-strung horizon
Of a monsoon’s mother

She dances, as she is
Plucking pearlescent ice
From the frosty flotsam of
The sea in my sky.

There is also a really emo one about knives and love and forgiveness and stuff. I don’t even want to post it. Don’t find it. It’s really embarrassing. I should really take that stuff down.

Sadly, it’s not as bad as reading my high school journal. I’m afraid to look at that one, because I might be forced to time travel.


“Past self, you’re so embarrassing. Stop it.”

“How can you be so insensitive, future self?! MY HEART HURTS OW. I’m gonna go watch myself cry in the mirror now, so that I get perpetually sadder for no good reason.”

“I SAID STOP.”

I have come a really really long way. Thank you, college.

About abi nighthill

Abi has a BA in Poetry from Columbia College Chicago.
This entry was posted in Journal, Poetry and Nonfiction, School. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IT IS SO TERRIBLE

  1. imagesfromapoet says:

    I don’t think you realize that even though it sucks it is still better than some poetry written by people ten years older than you are NOW.

Leave a Reply

