Savory Strawberry Pizza

That’s right, strawberry pizza. I made a delicious recipe for strawberry pizza that is not a dessert pizza. Why? Partly because I like fruit on pizza–be it pineapple with ham, apple with walnuts and blue cheese, or pear with brie cheese. Partly because I bought some mushy (but fresh) strawberries at the farmers’ market downtown. It tastes surprisingly meaty for a pizza that has no meat on it. I blame the walnuts.

Ingredients:

Your choice of pizza dough (I buy pre-made dough balls, but if you have a recipe, that’s even better).

1.5 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
4 oz fresh parmesan cheese
8 oz mozzarella cheese
1 handful torn-up fresh basil
0.5 cup sliced strawberries
0.25 cup chopped walnuts
1 generous sprinkle of black pepper

1. Roll out or toss the dough to about 12″. Place on pizza pan. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2. With a pastry brush, spread the olive oil and balsamic vinegar all over the crust.
3. Starting with the parmesan cheese and ending with the strawberries and walnuts, layer all remaining ingredients evenly on the pizza crust.
4. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or as specified in pizza dough recipe/instructions.

Optional: You may try swapping the ingredients in the recipe. Substitute raspberries for strawberries, or ricotta or fresh mozerella for parmesan, for example.

About abi nighthill

Abi has a BA in Poetry from Columbia College Chicago.
This entry was posted in Awesome, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Savory Strawberry Pizza

  1. Thom says:

    Although some ingredients may be acceptable to swap, do not, under any circumstances, replace 1 tsp balsamic vinegar with 5 tbsp raspberry vinaigrette “light!”

    It’s so coincidental that you posted this. I tried to remember how you made it, like, less than a week ago, and, uh, as I wrote, it didn’t go so well. I ended up scraping it all off to save my homemade Carona dough. But, yeah, balsamic vinegar! Not vinaigrette! Thank you!

    How did your gallery show go? I’m sorry I never got back with my comments on your piece. It’s buried in my backpack with some pen marks here and there, but nothing substantial because it’s fantastic. It’s next level Abi. Anyway, hope you’re doing well!

  2. Abi says:

    Oh dear! I could maybe see a vanaigrette working if you omit the olive oil, but “light” vinaigrette sounds problematic! Feel free to call/email me if you need any more culinary tips :D

    The show looked great, but had a pretty small turnout. You aren’t obligated to give me comments on my work, but I do appreciate comments. Let me know if you plan to visit Chicago anytime. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

