Maple Bacon Rum

At some point I decided that bacon was delicious with everything. I know this is no new thing, the average North American bacon aficionado can get bacon in practically anything. I’ve tried bacon chocolate, and I wasn’t too impressed. Bacon in waffles are delicious. I’ve yet to try bacon ice cream, but I bet it’s a smash.

Photo by Flickr user Alex Shultz, Creative Commons Attribution License

I load bacon into eggs, and I’ve saved the fat in a jar in the fridge so I can use it on my cast iron pans. I’d saved up 4 ounces, and considered making bacon brownies. Then I realized I could attempt to put bacon in alcohol–two vices in one! After looking up various ways of infusing liquors with flavor, I decided to try fat-washing. I had all that bacon grease saved up and the process looked very simple and quick. So, I picked up a little rum and got to work. Here’s what I did:

  • microwave-safe dish
  • glass jar or other container(at least 20 ounces)
  • mesh strainer or cheesecloth (I used a french press strainer)
  • several coffee filters
  • funnel
  • 16 ounces rum (I used Cruzan Aged Rum)
  • 5 ounces bacon fat
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns
  • 1. Put 5 ounces of bacon fat and 1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns in a microwaveable container. Cover with plastic wrap and microwave for thirty-second increments until transparent and hot, stirring in between. (You could also just heat this on the stove top, but I had the fat in a glass container to start with).

    2. Stir 3 tbsp maple syrup into bacon fat mixture, then microwave once more.

    3. Pour bacon mixture into rum while it’s still hot. Stir well.

    4. Cover and place in fridge overnight. (I gave mine about a day)

    5. After it’s done in the fridge, place it in the freezer for another 30 minutes.

    6. Take it out of the freezer, puncture the fat layer, and pour through wire mesh or cheesecloth into a clean container.

    7. Filter this through the coffee filters. I placed a filter in a funnel and let it sit for a while. It took me four filters.

    I’m delighted with the results. The rum is a little oaky and sweet, so it blends wonderfully with the other flavors. The whole thing tastes like pancakes with peppered bacon and syrup. The flavor came out stronger than I expected. It’s also much sweeter than I expected, so I might use less maple syrup next time.

    About abi nighthill

    Abi has a BA in Poetry from Columbia College Chicago.
    This entry was posted in Awesome, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    